Skip to main content Skip to secondary navigation

How to add, edit, and delete News Topics taxonomy

The News Topics vocabulary/taxonomy gives you the ability to organize and categorize your news content. By default, this vocabulary includes a number of useful terms (Announcements, Awards, Faculty, In the News, Staff, Students), and site managers have the ability to add, edit, or delete these terms.

The taxonomy terms in the News Topics vocabulary are used by the menu/filter on your News List page at [your site url]/news. 

  • Note: Though you have the ability to nest taxonomy terms, only the main parent term will be included in the News Topics menu/filter. For example, if you nested a term of "Undergrads" within the parent "Students" term, only "Students" would appear in the News Topics menu/filter.

Navigating to the taxonomy editor

  1. Hover over Structure in the main administrative toolbar.
  2. Hover over Taxonomy, which will display a list of all vocabularies, including News Topics.
  3. Click on News Topics to display a list of its Taxonomy Terms.
  4.  Within this page, you have the ability to add additional terms, or edit/delete existing terms.

Adding new terms to the News Topics Vocabulary

  1. Within the taxonomy editor, click on the button that reads “ Add term”.
  2. Add term name and any additional details.
  3. Click Save.
  4. You now have the ability to add these terms to News items within their respective editing interface.

Editing terms in the News Topics Vocabulary

  1. Within the taxonomy editor, find the term you would like to edit under the Name category.
  2. On the same line as the term you would like to edit, click on the button that reads Edit under the Operations category.
  3. Edit term details.
  4. Click Save.

Deleting terms in the News Topics Taxonomy

  1. Within the taxonomy editor, find the term you would like to delete under the Name category.
  2. On the same line as the term you would like to delete, click on the dropdown arrow button next to the “Edit” button under the Operations category.
  3. Click Delete.
  4. You will be routed to an additional page for final deletion confirmation.